View settings

Font size:
Site colours:


Official website of the President of Russia

Far Eastern Federal District (FEFD)

encompasses eleven constituent entities of the Russian Federation: Amur Region, the Chukotka Autonomous Area, the Jewish Autonomous Region, Kamchatka Territory, Khabarovsk Territory, Magadan Region, Primorye Territory, the Republic of Buryatia, the Republic of Sakha (Yakutia), Sakhalin Region and Trans-Baikal Territory. The capital of the FEFD is the city of Khabarovsk.

The FEFD is the largest-spanning federal district in Russia, with an area of 6.2159 million square kilometres or 36.4 percent of Russia’s entire territory. The district is home to more than seven million people or 4.9 percent of Russia’s population.

The FEFD is bordered by two oceans – the Arctic Ocean and the Pacific Ocean – and has the longest coastline of any other federal district of over 9,000 kilometres. The district contains Russia’s largest peninsula, Kamchatka of 350,000 square kilometres; Russia’s largest island, Sakhalin of 76,400 square kilometres; the archipelago with the greatest number of islands, the Kurils; and one of the world’s largest active volcanoes, Klyuchevskaya Sopka which is 4,750 metres high. Two of the district’s rivers – the Lena and the Amur – are among the longest rivers in the world.

The Far East is rich in natural resources, including gold, diamonds, oil, and natural gas. The district’s leading industries are the mining, forestry, woodworking and fishing industries, as well as non-ferrous metallurgy, maritime and railroad transportation, machine-building, and hydropower engineering. Reindeer herding, hunting, and fur farming are also traditional industries in the Far East.