View settings

Font size:
Site colours:


Official website of the President of Russia

Eurasian Economic Community (EurAsEC)

is an international organisation uniting a number of former Soviet republics, existed from 2001 through 2014. Among its functions was the formation of common external customs boundaries of its member states, the elaboration of a common foreign economic policy, tariffs, prices and other operational components of the common market.

The Treaty on the establishment of the EurAsEC was signed on October 10, 2000 in Kazakhstan’s capital Astana. Five states made up the association since its establishment – Belarus, Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan, Russia and Tajikistan.

On October 10, 2014, the heads of the EurAsEC member states – Russia, Belarus, Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan and Tajikistan – signed documents in Minsk to liquidate the Eurasian Economic Community. The organisation ceased to exist in connection with the establishment of the Eurasian Economic Union, which became functional as of January 1, 2015.