View settings

Font size:
Site colours:


Official website of the President of Russia

Gas Exporting Countries Forum (GECF)

unites nations controlling 73 percent of the world’s natural gas reserves and producing 42 percent of the global output. The establishment of the organisation representing all gas producers was initiated by Iran in 2001. On December 23, 2008, the energy ministers from eleven nations met in Moscow to sign the GECF charter and intergovernmental agreement.

The agreement sets the principles of the organisation, including its relationships with gas consuming countries, the information exchange on gas producers’ forecasts and investment programmes implementation, new technologies application in the gas sector, and joint efforts in liquefaction of natural gas (LNG).

The GECF’s member states are Algeria, Bolivia, Egypt, Equatorial Guinea, Islamic Republic of Iran, Libya, Nigeria, Qatar, Russia, Trinidad and Tobago, and Venezuela. Kazakhstan and Norway have observer status. The GECF is headquartered in Doha, Qatar.