View settings

Font size:
Site colours:


Official website of the President of Russia

Customs Union between Russia, Belarus, and Kazakhstan

was established on December 19, 2009, in Almaty, Kazakhstan, where the leaders of the three states – Dmitry Medvedev, Alexander Lukashenko, and Nursultan Nazarbayev – signed the Joint Statement on its founding. The first phase of the Customs Union’s functioning began on January 1, 2010, with the introduction of a uniform customs tariff.

The Customs Union’s highest bodies are the Interstate Councils of the heads of states and governments of its members. Its joint permanent governing body is the Customs Union Commission.

The Customs Union formation envisages creation of a common customs territory where no customs duties or economic restrictions will apply, save for special protective, anti-dumping and compensatory measures. Within the Customs Union, a uniform customs tariff and other uniform measures regulating the commodity trade with third nations will be applied.