View settings

Font size:
Site colours:


Official website of the President of Russia

League of Arab States (LAS)

is a regional intergovernmental organisation. It was formed in Cairo on March 22, 1945. Its founding members were Egypt, Iraq, Lebanon, Saudi Arabia, Syria, Jordan, and Yemen.

At present, the League has 21 member states: Egypt, Iraq, Jordan, Syria, Lebanon, Yemen, Saudi Arabia, Libya, Sudan, Tunisia, Morocco, Kuwait, Algeria, Qatar, Bahrain, Oman, the United Arab Emirates, Mauritania, Somalia, Djibouti, and the Comoros Islands. The Palestine Liberation Organisation is also a member of the LAS.

The LAS maintains its permanent headquarters in Cairo.