View settings

Font size:
Site colours:


Official website of the President of Russia

Siberian Federal District (SFD)

encompasses ten federal constituent entities of the Russian Federation: the Republic of Altai, Altai Territory, Irkutsk Region, Kemerovo Region, the Republic of Khakassia, Krasnoyarsk Territory, Novosibirsk Region, Omsk Region, Tomsk Region and the Republic of Tuva. The district’s administrative centre is the city of Novosibirsk.

The district has an area of 5,114.8 thousand square kilometres (30% of the nation’s area) and a population of 20 million people (14% of Russia’s population). Russia’s most abundant river, the Yenisei, flows through the territory of the SFD which has shorelines on the Kara Sea and the Laptev Sea in the Arctic Ocean. Lake Baikal, which is located in the southern part of East Siberia, is the world’s deepest lake (1,620 metres) and is the largest freshwater lake on the planet, containing 1/5 of the world’s fresh water.

The Siberian Federal District’s territory contains 85% of Russia’s lead and platinum reserves, 80% of its coal and molybdenum, 71% of its nickel, 69% of its copper, 44% of its silver, and 40% of its gold.

The leading industries in the district are ferrous and non-ferrous metallurgy, forestry, woodworking, and the chemical, petrochemical and foods sectors, as well as light industry, construction materials production, machine-building, and metal-working. The SFD is also home to major industrial companies of the nuclear and space sectors, as well as some of Russia’s largest hydropower stations, including the Sayano-Shushenskaya, Bratskaya, Ust-Ilimskaya and Obskaya hydroelectric plants.

Siberia’s forest resources have enormous economic value.

The most important agricultural sectors in the district are cattle breeding, grain production, and vegetable farming.