View settings

Font size:
Site colours:


Official website of the President of Russia

Asia-Pacific Economic Cooperation (APEC)

established in 1989. Russia joined it in 1998.

APEC brings together 19 countries (Australia, Brunei, Canada, Chile, China, Indonesia, Japan, Malaysia, Mexico, New Zealand, Papua New Guinea, Peru, Philippines, Russia, Singapore, South Korea, Thailand, USA and Vietnam) and two territories (Hong Kong special administrative region of China, and Taiwan).

APEC does not have a charter and therefore cannot be termed an organisation, but is an international forum and consultative body for discussing economic issues. All APEC decisions are made on a consensus basis.

APEC is chaired by whichever country is due to host the next summit.