View settings

Font size:
Site colours:


Official website of the President of Russia

Документ   /

Law to ratify Russian-Armenian agreement on joint group of forces

July 27, 2017

Vladimir Putin signed the Federal Law On the Ratification of the Agreement between the Russian Federation and the Republic of Armenia on a Joint Group of Armed Forces of the Russian Federation and the Republic of Armenia.

The Agreement was signed in Moscow on November 30, 2016.

It sets out the purpose of and the procedure for creating, deploying and using the Russian-Armenian Joint Group of Armed Forces.

The Joint Group will maintain military security in the Caucasus collective security region.

The Agreement stipulates the Joint Group of Forces’ composition and priorities, the procedure for appointing the group’s commander, his authority and subordination in peacetime and in war, as well as issues related to the creation of a Joint Command in time of direct threat of aggression or of actual military action, and also the creation of a Joint Command Committee of the Joint Group of Armed Forces.

Decisions on the deployment and use of the Joint Group of Forces shall be taken jointly by the Supreme Commander of the Russian Armed Forces and the Supreme Commander of the Armenian Armed Forces.

The Agreement was signed for five years with a possible automatic extension for subsequent five-year periods.

July 27, 2017