View settings

Font size:
Site colours:


Official website of the President of Russia

Документ   /

State border treaty between Russia and Azerbaijan has been submitted to the State Duma for ratification

May 5, 2011

Dmitry Medvedev submitted to the State Duma for ratification the Treaty on the State Border Between the Russian Federation and the Republic of Azerbaijan.

The Treaty is a basic document that specifies the coordinates of the state border between the two countries along its entire length from the starting point to the Caspian Sea.

The starting point is the spot where the borders of Russia, Azerbaijan and Georgia come together, whose location will be determined by a separate tripartite treaty.

The administrative and territorial borders between the RSFSR and the Azerbaijani SSR at the time of the Soviet Union’s collapse are used as a basis, with due consideration for legislative acts and relevant cartographic materials.

The Treaty’s ratification will make it possible to introduce measures to strengthen security on the border with Azerbaijan without creating obstacles to free communication between the two states’ citizens.

The Treaty was signed in Baku on September 3, 2010.

The parties have agreed to synchronise the Treaty’s entry into force with the Agreement Between the Government of the Russian Federation and the Government of the Republic of Azerbaijan on the Rational Use and Protection of Trans-Boundary Water Resources of the Samur River, which was signed in Baku on September 3, 2010.

May 5, 2011