View settings

Font size:
Site colours:


Official website of the President of Russia

Документ   /

Ratification of agreement on state border between Russia and Azerbaijan

June 27, 2011

Dmitry Medvedev signed Federal Law On Ratification of the Agreement between the Russian Federation and the Republic of Azerbaijan on the State Border.

The Agreement was signed in Baku, Azerbaijan on September 3, 2010.

The Agreement is a framework document defining the state border between the two states in its entirety, from its starting point to the Caspian Sea. The starting point is the point where the state borders of Russia, Azerbaijan and Georgia meet, whose location will be defined by a separate trilateral agreement.

The border coincides with the administrative and territorial border between the Russian Soviet Federative Socialist Republic and Azerbaijani Soviet Socialist Republic, which existed at the time of the Soviet Union’s disintegration.

June 27, 2011