View settings

Font size:
Site colours:


Official website of the President of Russia

Документ   /

Russian-Tajikistani Border Cooperation Agreement has been submitted to the State Duma for ratification

January 5, 2012

Dmitry Medvedev submitted to the State Duma for ratification the Border Cooperation Agreement between the Russian Federation and the Republic of Tajikistan, signed in Dushanbe on September 2, 2011.

The draft federal law on the ratification of the Border Cooperation Agreement between the Russian Federation and the Republic of Tajikistan (hereinafter Agreement), signed in Dushanbe on September 2, 2011, stipulates that the Agreement must be ratified.

Due to Tajikistan’s denunciation of the Border Cooperation Agreement between the Republic of Tajikistan and the Russian Federation of October 16, 2004 (the Agreement expired on April 27, 2011), the President of Russia and the President of Tajikistan signed a new Border Cooperation Agreement aimed at ensuring the security of the border area between the Russian Federation and the Republic of Tajikistan.

The Agreement reflects Russia’s position on several fundamental issues. In particular, it provides for the preservation of the Russian presence in Tajikistan as part of the Border Cooperation Group, the participation of Russia’s representatives in upgrading state border protection and Tajikistan’s operational border security, providing professional training for the staff and experts of Tajikistan’s border agency, as well as cooperation in the fight against terrorism, religious extremism, illegal migration and transnational organised crime.

January 5, 2012