View settings

Font size:
Site colours:


Official website of the President of Russia

Документ   /

Ratification of Agreement between Russia and Turkey on cooperation in peaceful use of nuclear energy

May 7, 2011

Dmitry Medvedev signed Federal Law On Ratification of the Agreement Between the Government of the Russian Federation and the Government of the Republic of Turkey on Cooperation in the Peaceful Use of Nuclear Energy.

The Agreement aims to form a contractual legal framework for full-scale Russian-Turkish cooperation in the peaceful use of nuclear energy in areas of mutual interest. These include research and development, the design and construction of power and research reactors, their use and modernisation, the nuclear and radiation security and safety regulation, the development of improved, innovative reactor technologies and nuclear fuel cycle technologies, and controlled thermonuclear fusion.

The Agreement establishes the principles for organising this cooperation.

It includes the Parties’ obligations with regard to compliance with the current non-proliferation regime.

The Agreement was signed in Ankara on August 6, 2009.

May 7, 2011