View settings

Font size:
Site colours:


Official website of the President of Russia

Документ   /

Agreement on reciprocal visa-free travel by citizens of Russia and Abkhazia

April 7, 2011

Dmitry Medvedev signed Federal Law On Ratification of the Agreement between the Government of the Russian Federation and the Government of the Republic of Abkhazia on Reciprocal Visa-Free Travel by Citizens of the Russian Federation and the Republic of Abkhazia.

The Agreement was signed in Sukhumi, Abkhazia on October 2, 2009.

The main goal of the Agreement is to strengthen the contractual legal base of Russian-Abkhazian relations, to create more favourable conditions for the development and broadening of reciprocal contacts between citizens of the two states, and to deepen humanitarian exchange.

The Agreement establishes regulations that are most favourable to reciprocal trips by citizens of Russia and Abkhazia.

A key element of this Agreement is the introduction of reciprocal visa-free travel regime for citizens of the two nations using both passports and domestic identification documents.

The Agreement also establishes residency regulations for members of the Russian Armed Forces in Abkhazia.

April 7, 2011