View settings

Font size:
Site colours:


Official website of the President of Russia

Документ   /

Law ratifying Russian-South Ossetian agreement on the state border

April 26, 2016

Vladimir Putin signed Federal Law On Ratification of the Agreement between the Russian Federation and the Republic of South Ossetia on the State Border.

The agreement was signed in Moscow on February 18, 2015.

It is a basic document sealing the state border between the two countries in its entirety, from the western to the eastern junction point of the state borders of the Russian Federation, the Republic of South Ossetia and Georgia.

This border is based on the administrative territorial division line between the RSFSR and the Georgian SSR as it existed at the time of dissolution of the USSR and as it was formalised in state regulations and relevant cartographic materials.

The agreement is fully in keeping with Russia’s interests. Its ratification will make it possible to establish the state border regime on the above mentioned section of the border without creating any hindrance to the free movement of citizens of the two states across the border.

April 26, 2016