View settings

Font size:
Site colours:


Official website of the President of Russia

Документ   /

Meeting of the Supreme Eurasian Economic Council

December 20, 2019, St Petersburg

Vladimir Putin, Prime Minister of Armenia Nikol Pashinyan, President of Belarus Alexander Lukashenko, First President of Kazakhstan and Honorary Chairman of the Supreme Eurasian Economic Council Nursultan Nazarbayev and President of Kyrgyzstan Sooronbay Jeenbekov held a meeting of the Supreme Eurasian Economic Council. President of Moldova Igor Dodon also attended the meeting in expanded format.

The participants discussed the current issues concerning the activities of the Eurasian Economic Union and outlined tasks for further deepening cooperation. A package of documents was signed following the meeting.

In particular, they signed the Directive On Work on the Draft Strategic Directions for Eurasian Economic Integration Development until 2025 and resolutions on the Chairman and composition of the Eurasian Economic Commission Board.

Other documents concern the pensions of workers in the EAEU member states, lifting barriers to the operation of the EAEU domestic market, liberalisation of some service sectors within the EAEU, establishing a common electricity market in the EAEU and some administrative issues.

In addition, they reviewed the work of the Eurasian Economic Commission during the past four years. Mikhail Myasnikovich, Speaker of the Council of the Republic of Belarus, the upper chamber of the Belarusian parliament, will take over the post EEC Board Chairman from Tigran Sargsyan.

During the meeting, Vladimir Putin awarded Tigran Sargsyan with the Order of Friendship to note his contribution to the development of the EAEU.

In 2020, the rotating Presidency of the EAEU will pass from Armenia to Belarus.

December 20, 2019, St Petersburg