View settings

Font size:
Site colours:


Official website of the President of Russia

Документ   /

The third Caspian Summit

November 18, 2010, Baku

The summit, held in the capital of Azerbaijan, was attended by the heads of five littoral states: President of Russia Dmitry Medvedev, President of Azerbaijan Ilham Aliyev, President of Kazakhstan Nursultan Nazarbayev, President of Turkmenistan Gurbanguly Berdimuhamedov, and President of Iran Mahmoud Ahmadinejad.

Dmitry Medvedev stressed, in particular, that Russia intends to do everything in its power to accelerate the approval and adoption of the Convention on the Legal Status of the Caspian Sea. First of all, the Convention focuses on seabed and water areas delimitation, military activities at sea and common navigation and fishing regulations.

In addition, the Russian President called for preventing the deterioration of the unique Caspian biological system, as well as developing a new format of cooperation for the “Caspian Five”, including with the aim of providing security in the region.

Following the meeting, the heads of Caspian littoral states signed an agreement on security cooperation in the Caspian Sea. The summit participants also adopted a joint statement.

November 18, 2010, Baku