View settings

Font size:
Site colours:


Official website of the President of Russia

Документ   /

Executive Order introducing martial law in the DPR, LPR, Zaporozhye and Kherson regions

October 19, 2022

The President of Russia signed Executive Order On Introducing Martial Law in the Donetsk People’s Republic, Lugansk People’s Republic, Zaporozhye and Kherson Regions.

Taking into account that armed force is being used against the territorial integrity of the Russian Federation, in accordance with part 2 of Article 87 of the Russian Federation Constitution and Articles 3 and 4 of the Federal Constitutional Law No. 1-FKZ, On Martial Law, dated January 30, 2002, the President resolved to introduce martial law on the territories of the Donetsk People's Republic, the Lugansk People's Republic, the Zaporozhye Region and the Kherson Region, starting at midnight on October 20, 2022.

The Government of the Russian Federation, in accordance with the proposals of the Defence Ministry, the Interior Ministry, the Ministry for Civil Defence, Emergencies and Disaster Relief, the Federal Security Service, the Federal Service of National Guard Troops and the Chief Directorate for Special Programmes of the Russian President, shall be instructed to submit, within three days, proposals on measures to be applied in the regions where martial law has been introduced.

If necessary, other measures may be applied in the Russian Federation during the period of martial law, provided for by the Federal Constitutional Law No. 1-FKZ On Martial Law, dated January 30, 2002.

This Executive Order shall be submitted to the Federation Council of the Federal Assembly of the Russian Federation for approval immediately.

October 19, 2022