View settings

Font size:
Site colours:


Official website of the President of Russia

News   /

Law on the EurAsEC Court Statute ratification

May 6, 2011

Dmitry Medvedev signed Federal Law On Ratification of the Statute of the Eurasian Economic Community Court.

The statute was signed in Astana on July 5, 2010, on the basis of the Treaty on the Establishment of the Eurasian Economic Community of October 10, 2000 and the Protocol on Amendments to the Treaty on the Establishment of the Eurasian Economic Community of October 6, 2007.

The statute defines the court’s organisational structure and membership, procedures for appointing judges, judges’ powers, privileges and immunity, conditions for financing the court’s activities, the court’s location, and the mechanisms for court proceedings.

The EurAsEC Court’s purpose is to ensure the uniform enforcement of the Treaty on the Establishment of the Eurasian Economic Community of October 10, 2000, other international agreements concluded within EurAsEC, and decisions approved by EurAsEC’s decision-making bodies. The court examines economic disputes between the EurAsEC member countries.

With the establishment of the Customs Union, the EurAsEC Court also examines disputes between the Customs Union’s bodies and the Customs Union’s member states.

The EurAsEC Court may have jurisdiction over other disputes if allowed by international agreements concluded within EurAsEC and the Customs Union.

May 6, 2011