View settings

Font size:
Site colours:


Official website of the President of Russia

News   /

The President introduced Pyotr Latyshev, his Plenipotentiary Envoy to the Urals Federal District, to the governors of six regions of that district

June 1, 2000, The Kremlin, Moscow

While introducing Mr Latyshev, President Putin underlined that the decision to create federal districts was in no way aimed at moving away from the principles of federalism, and that any departure from the norms proclaimed by the Constitution would undermine Russia’s statehood.

The President suggested that the participants in the ceremony should discuss organising the work of all levels of government in the federal districts.

The Urals Federal District comprises the Kurgan, Sverdlovsk, Tyumen, Chelyabinsk, Khanty-Mansi and Yamalo-Nenets regions.

June 1, 2000, The Kremlin, Moscow