View settings

Font size:
Site colours:


Official website of the President of Russia

News   /

The presidents of Russia, Azerbaijan, Armenia and Georgia met at the Kremlin

June 20, 2000, Moscow

Presidents Putin, Aliyev, Kocharian and Shevardnadze discussed the situation in the Caucasus region and ways of strengthening regional security, including cooperation in the fight against international terrorism. The presidents spoke in favour of strengthening their ties and agreed that the foreign ministers of the four countries would meet at least twice a year during meetings of the Council of Heads of State of the Commonwealth of Independent States.

The presidents also considered the prospects for developing cooperation in humanitarian and other areas.

After the meeting, the four presidents signed a joint declaration.

June 20, 2000, Moscow