View settings

Font size:
Site colours:


Official website of the President of Russia

News   /

Laureates of 2017 Presidential Prize in Science and Innovation for Young Scientists announced in Moscow

February 5, 2018, Moscow

Vladimir Putin signed the Executive Order On Presenting the 2017 Presidential Prize in Science and Innovation for Young Scientists.

The prize, established back in 2008, is awarded to young scientists and specialists for their considerable contribution to advancing national sciences, developing new equipment and technology that provide innovative advancement of the national economy and social sphere, as well as the strengthening of the country's defence capability. The aim of presenting such a prize is to promote further research and create favourable conditions for new scientific discoveries.

The names of the laureates were announced by Presidential Aide Andrei Fursenko during a special briefing.

* * *

Executive Order On Presenting the 2017 Presidential Prize in Science and Innovation for Young Scientists

The President, after examining the proposals submitted by the Presidential Council for Science and Education, resolved to award the 2017 Presidential Prize in Science and Innovation for Young Scientists and the honorary title of laureate of the Presidential Prize to:

Nikita Bashnin, PhD in history, research fellow at the Scientific and Historical Archive of the St Petersburg Institute of History of the Russian Academy of Sciences, for his contribution to studying the relations between the church and the state, the development of monasteries and publication of primary sources dating back to the 15th – 19th centuries;

Konstantin Kokh, PhD in geology and mineralogy, senior research fellow at the crystal growth laboratory of the Sobolev Institute of Geology and Mineralogy of the Siberian Branch of the Russian Academy of Sciences, for developing methods to obtain chalcogenide compounds and create functional crystals for high-technology devices;

Maxim Nikitin, PhD in physics and mathematics, head of nanobiotechnology laboratory at the Moscow Institute of Physics and Technology, for developing a new generation of smart nanomaterials for biomedical applications and fundamentals for autonomous biomolecular computer systems used in theranostics.

February 5, 2018, Moscow