View settings

Font size:
Site colours:


Official website of the President of Russia

Документ   /

CSTO Collective Security Council meeting

December 20, 2011, The Kremlin, Moscow

Leaders of the CSTO member states discussed aspects of foreign defence policy and countering modern challenges and threats.

The leaders agreed by consensus that the deployment of military infrastructure on the territory of  CSTO member states by non-members of the CSTO is possible only with the obligatory coordination of this issue with all CSTO members.

They have also agreed upon a plan of events to be held next year to commemorate the 20th anniversary of the Treaty on Collective Security and the 10th anniversary of the CSTO’s establishment; a joint statement has been approved on the matter.

The presidents approved an armament programme for the Collective Rapid Reaction Force. The Collective Force has been reinforced with CSTO member states’ anti-drug units. In addition, a statute was adopted on joint action in case of industrial accidents and natural disasters.

The meeting was attended by President of Russia Dmitry Medvedev, President of Armenia Serzh Sargsyan, President of Belarus Alexander Lukashenko, President of Kazakhstan Nursultan Nazarbayev, President Kyrgyzstan Almazbek Atambayev, President of Tajikistan Emomali Rahmon, President of Uzbekistan Islam Karimov, and CSTO Secretary General Nikolai Bordyuzha.

The rotating presidency over all CSTO statutory bodies has been transferred from Belarus to Kazakhstan.

December 20, 2011, The Kremlin, Moscow