View settings

Font size:
Site colours:


Official website of the President of Russia

Executive Office   /

Sergei Ivanov elected head of the Moscow Kremlin museums’ Board of Trustees

April 11, 2013, The Kremlin, Moscow

Chief of Staff of the Presidential Executive Office Sergei Ivanov will preside over the Board of Trustees of the Moscow Kremlin museums. His candidacy was unanimously supported at the Board of Trustees’ meeting.

Sergei Ivanov thanked the Board members for their trust, noting that this is not only a great honour, but also a major responsibility.

During the meeting, Director of the Moscow Kremlin museums Yelena Gagarina presented a strategy for developing the museum complex.

* * *

The Moscow Kremlin State Historical and Cultural Museum-Preserve includes the Armoury, the Patriarch’s Palace and the Twelve Apostles’ Church, the Assumption, Archangel and Annunciation cathedrals, the Church of the Deposition of the Robe, the Ivan the Great Bell Tower and Assumption Belfry, the Tsar Cannon and the Tsar Bell. The museum’s collection includes over sixty thousand historical, cultural and artistic artefacts.

The Board of Trustees of the Moscow Kremlin museums was established by a Presidential Order in 2006, to coincide with the 200th anniversary of the Kremlin museums. In addition to Sergei Ivanov and Yelena Gagarina, its current members include Patriarch Kirill of Moscow and All Russia, Federation Council Speaker Valentina Matviyenko, Deputy Prime Minister Olga Golodets, Culture Minister Vladimir Medinsky, Federal Guard Service Director Yevgeny Murov, Chief of the Presidential Property Management Directorate Vladimir Kozhin, Moscow State University Rector Viktor Sadovnichy and others.

April 11, 2013, The Kremlin, Moscow