View settings

Font size:
Site colours:


Official website of the President of Russia

News   /

Meeting of CSTO Collective Security Council

May 15, 2012, The Kremlin, Moscow

An anniversary meeting of CSTO Collective Security Council dedicated to the 20th anniversary of the Collective Security Treaty and 10th anniversary of CSTO took place at the Kremlin. The heads of CSTO member states adopted a Declaration following the summit.

Issues discussed at the meeting of the  CSTO Collective Security Council included the current international situation and further joint steps to counter global and regional challenges and threats to the security of CSTO members. The meeting participants also reviewed the main achievements of the CSTO during the decade of its existence.

The Declaration adopted following the Summit gives a joint assessment on the main trends in the international arena and the CSTO’s performance, and confirms the members’ commitment to the goals and principles of the Collective Security Treaty, their readiness to develop and deepen allied relations in foreign policy, military and defence cooperation, countering transnational challenges and threats to security and stability.

The meeting was attended by the heads of CSTO member states: President of Russia Vladimir Putin, President of Armenia Serzh Sargsyan, President of Belarus Alexander Lukashenko, President of Kazakhstan Nursultan Nazarbayev, President of Kyrgyzstan Almazbek Atambayev, President of Tajikistan Emomali Rahmon and President of Uzbekistan Islam Karimov. Vladimir Putin and Nursultan Nazarbayev, who is currently holding the CSTO presidency, made statements for the media.

May 15, 2012, The Kremlin, Moscow