View settings

Font size:
Site colours:


Official website of the President of Russia

Security Council   /

Meeting with permanent members of the Security Council

August 21, 2020, Novo-Ogaryovo, Moscow Region

The President held a meeting, via videoconference, with permanent members of the Security Council.

The discussion focused on the situation in Belarus. The President informed the meeting participants about a series of international telephone contacts that took place this week, underscoring that any outside interference in the Republic’s affairs is unacceptable and that there is no alternative for a political settlement in Belarus other than through dialogue led by and consisting of its leaders and citizens.

The results of the recent Russian-American consultations on strategic stability and arms control were also touched upon.

The participants also discussed current issues on the domestic socioeconomic agenda.

The meeting was attended by Prime Minister Mikhail Mishustin, Federation Council Speaker Valentina Matviyenko, State Duma Speaker Vyacheslav Volodin, Deputy Chairman of the Security Council Dmitry Medvedev, Security Council Secretary Nikolai Patrushev, Interior Minister Vladimir Kolokoltsev, Foreign Minister Sergei Lavrov, Defence Minister Sergei Shoigu, Director of the Federal Security Service Alexander Bortnikov, Director of the Foreign Intelligence Service Sergei Naryshkin, and Special Presidential Representative for Environmental Protection, Ecology and Transport Sergei Ivanov.

August 21, 2020, Novo-Ogaryovo, Moscow Region