View settings

Font size:
Site colours:


Official website of the President of Russia

Security Council   /

Meeting with permanent members of Security Council

July 17, 2020, Novo-Ogaryovo, Moscow Region

The President held a videoconference with permanent members of the Security Council of the Russian Federation.

The participants exchanged views on the latest developments on the Armenian-Azerbaijani border. They expressed concern over the continued escalation of tension, emphasised the imperative need for the sides to ensure a ceasefire, and expressed readiness to mediate between the two sides.

The President updated the permanent members of the Security Council on a series of recent telephone conversations he had with Crown Prince of Abu Dhabi Sheikh Mohammed bin Zayed Al Nahyan, Federal Chancellor of Germany Angela Merkel and President of Iran Hassan Rouhani.

Taking part in the videoconference meeting were Federation Council Speaker Valentina Matviyenko, State Duma Speaker Vyacheslav Volodin, Deputy Chairman of the Security Council Dmitry Medvedev, Chief of Staff of the Presidential Executive Office Anton Vaino, Security Council Secretary Nikolai Patrushev, Interior Minister Vladimir Kolokoltsev, Foreign Minister Sergei Lavrov, Director of the Federal Security Service Alexander Bortnikov, Director of the Foreign Intelligence Service Sergei Naryshkin, and Special Presidential Representative for Environmental Protection, Ecology and Transport Sergei Ivanov.

July 17, 2020, Novo-Ogaryovo, Moscow Region