View settings

Font size:
Site colours:


Official website of the President of Russia

Security Council structure

The Security Council is formed by the President in accordance with the Constitution and the Federal Law “On Security”. The President chairs the Council and appoints its members. The secretary of the Security Council who answers directly to the President oversees the Council’s work and its Office.

Security Council Chairman

Putin Vladimir

President of the Russian Federation

Permanent members of Security Council

Medvedev Dmitry

Deputy Chairman of the Security Council of the Russian Federation

Mishustin Mikhail

Prime Minister of the Russian Federation

Matviyenko Valentina

Chairwoman of the Council of Federation

Naryshkin Sergei

Director of the Foreign Intelligence Service

Volodin Vyacheslav

State Duma Speaker

Vaino Anton

Chief of Staff of the Presidential Executive Office

Ivanov Sergei

Special Presidential Representative for Environmental Protection, Ecology and Transport

Patrushev Nikolai

Secretary of the Russian Federation Security Council

Shoigu Sergei

Defence Minister

Lavrov Sergei

Foreign Minister of Russia

Kolokoltsev Vladimir

Interior Minister

Bortnikov Alexander

Director of the Federal Security Service

Security Council members

Beglov Alexander

Governor of St Petersburg

Bulavin Vladimir

Head of the Federal Customs Service

Chaika Yury

Presidential Plenipotentiary Envoy to the North Caucasus Federal District

Chuychenko Konstantin

Minister for Justice

Gerasimov Valery

Chief of the General Staff of Russia’s Armed Forces

Gutsan Alexander

Presidential Plenipotentiary Envoy to the Northwestern Federal District

Komarov Igor

Presidential Plenipotentiary Envoy to the Volga Federal District

Krasnov Igor

Prosecutor General

Nurgaliyev Rashid

Deputy Secretary of the Security Council

Shchegolev Igor

Presidential Plenipotentiary Envoy to the Central Federal District

Siluanov Anton

Finance Minister

Sobyanin Sergei

Moscow Mayor

Trutnev Yury

Deputy Prime Minister – Presidential Plenipotentiary Envoy to the Far Eastern Federal District

Ustinov Vladimir

Presidential Plenipotentiary Envoy to the Southern Federal District

Zinichev Yevgeny

Zolotov Viktor

Director of the Federal Service of National Guard Troops and Commander of the National Guard Troops

Yakushev Vladimir

Presidential Plenipotentiary Envoy to the Urals Federal District

As of November 16, 2020